Open Scholarship

Brook Church-Koegel Scholarship 2026

One annual tuition scholarship for an enrolled undergraduate or graduate student at an accredited U.S. college or university.

JJ Ben-Joseph, founder of FindMyMoney.App
Reviewed by JJ Ben-Joseph
Official source: Brook Church-Koegel
💰 Funding $1,000, paid to the recipient's institution for tuition
📅 Deadline Dec 1, 2026
📍 Location United States
🏛️ Source Brook Church-Koegel

Brook Church-Koegel Scholarship 2026

The Brook Church-Koegel Scholarship offers one $1,000 tuition award for a student enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate program at an accredited college or university in the United States. The award is paid to the recipient’s institution and applied to tuition, so it is intended to reduce an education bill rather than provide cash directly to the student. The 2026 application deadline is December 1. Applicants submit an online form and a 500-to-800-word essay about something they built and what the experience taught them about building things that last. Official rules and the application page describe the award and submission requirements.

At a glance

Detail2026 information
AwardOne scholarship of $1,000 per year
How funds are usedPaid to the recipient’s college or university for tuition only
Eligible study levelsEnrolled undergraduate or graduate students
Eligible institutionAccredited U.S. college or university
Field of studyAny major or field
CitizenshipU.S. citizenship is not required
EssayOne essay of 500–800 words about something built and lessons about building things that last
Application costFree; no purchase, payment, donation, or business relationship is required or considered
DeadlineDecember 1, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. Pacific Time
Official applicationbrookchurchkoegelscholarship.com/apply

The award is limited to tuition. The published rules do not describe it as a stipend for books, housing, transportation, or other personal costs. They also do not promise that the scholarship can be divided across terms or exceed the $1,000 amount. Applicants should plan around the stated tuition-only use and ask their institution how an outside tuition award would be credited to their account. Official rules

What the scholarship offers

The sponsor awards one student $1,000 annually, with payment sent to the recipient’s college or university and applied only to tuition. That payment arrangement matters: the student does not receive the scholarship as unrestricted cash. The institution must confirm the recipient’s enrollment before payment, and the award is coordinated with the school in mid-December according to the published timeline. Official rules

This may help students with tuition remaining after other aid. The brief does not say how a school applies it alongside other aid or which tuition charges qualify. Ask the school’s financial-aid or student-account office how it would handle a $1,000 outside scholarship paid directly to the institution.

There is one recipient, and the rules give no application count or acceptance rate, so chances cannot be estimated from the available information. Students may fit the prompt through a project they actually worked on; no major, minimum GPA, or citizenship status is required. Official rules explain the criteria.

Who should apply and eligibility

Applicants must be based in the United States and enrolled as an undergraduate or graduate student at an accredited U.S. college or university. Any field of study is eligible, and U.S. citizenship is not required. Confirm that your enrollment and location meet these conditions before applying. Official rules

There is no minimum GPA or minimum age beyond enrollment, subject to applicable law. Members of the sponsor’s immediate family or household are ineligible. The brief does not list a class-year or financial-need requirement. If your enrollment, school accreditation, location, or relationship to the sponsor is unclear, review the rules and ask through a contact option published on the scholarship website, if available.

In brief, check enrollment, institutional accreditation, U.S. location, and the family-or-household exclusion. Citizenship, major, and GPA do not add restrictions under the published criteria. This summary is not an additional screening form. Official rules

How to apply

Apply only through the official form. It asks for your name, email, institution, student level, field or program, expected graduation year, essay, and confirmation that you read the rules and privacy notice. Have those details ready and review them for accuracy, especially the institution and expected graduation year. This is practical preparation based on the fields shown, not a request to provide extra records. Official rules identify the submission method.

The required essay is 500 to 800 words about something you built and what it taught you about building things that last. Answer that prompt directly and follow the live form’s entry instructions. The brief does not specify a file format or require a separate essay attachment. Application page

Before submitting, read the rules and privacy notice and confirm this in the form. Every complete application from an eligible applicant is read after the deadline. The brief describes no interview, recommendation process, or additional stage. Official rules

The application does not request a transcript, GPA, student ID, address, phone number, or fee. The recipient’s school confirms enrollment before payment. Applying is free; no purchase, payment, donation, or business relationship is required or considered. Do not send extra records unless the official instructions request them. Official rules and the application page give the submission details.

Timeline and deadline

The deadline is December 1, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. Pacific Time. Convert that time for your location and submit early. The rules do not say late applications are accepted, so treat the listed time as the cutoff. Official rules

Review and selection run December 1–10, the recipient is notified December 11, and payment is coordinated with the institution in mid-December. The school confirms enrollment before payment. The exact payment date and the school’s processing time are not stated. Official rules

Keep a copy of your essay and form responses for your records; this is practical advice, not a program requirement. The brief does not say whether applicants receive a receipt or can edit submissions. If no confirmation appears, check the site’s current instructions or use its published contact method before sending another application.

Preparing a focused essay

The prompt asks about something you built and what it taught you about building things that last. Choose an experience you genuinely had, then explain what you developed, your role, and what you learned. The brief does not limit “built” to a physical object, business, or academic project. These are writing suggestions, not eligibility rules. Application page

For clarity, introduce the project and goal, describe your role and a meaningful decision or obstacle, then explain the result and lesson. Concrete details can distinguish your contribution in a team project. To connect the story to “building things that last,” you might discuss a real choice about durability, maintenance, adaptation, or usefulness over time. Those are possible angles, not preferred topics announced by the sponsor. The program does not require this structure; it is not a published scoring rubric.

The sponsor considers initiative, persistence, clarity of purpose, and character, but publishes no weights or detailed rubric. Describe your experience truthfully rather than claiming unsupported lessons or accomplishments. Every complete eligible application is read after the deadline. Official rules

Preparation and common mistakes

For preparation, verify eligibility, choose a real project, draft and count the essay, then read the rules and privacy notice before completing the form. Leave time to review it before the deadline. This is optional planning advice; only the stated eligibility conditions, form fields, essay, and deadline are program requirements.

Avoid going outside the word limit, leaving out a requested field, or describing a project without answering what it taught you about lasting work. Read the required rules and privacy notice. Do not assume citizenship or GPA is a barrier: neither is a published requirement. Use the application page and official rules as the references.

No fee, purchase, donation, or business commitment is part of applying. The form does not request a transcript, student ID, or address. If it changes, follow the current official instructions. Official rules

Frequently asked questions

Can graduate students apply?

Yes. The program is open to enrolled undergraduate and graduate students at accredited U.S. colleges or universities. Official rules

Does an applicant need to be a U.S. citizen or have a minimum GPA?

No citizenship requirement or minimum GPA is stated. Applicants must be based in the United States and meet the enrollment and institution requirements. Official rules

Can students in any major apply?

Yes. Any field of study is eligible under the published rules. Official rules

Is the scholarship paid to the student?

No. The $1,000 award is paid to the recipient’s institution and applied to tuition only. The institution confirms enrollment before payment. Ask your school how the award would appear on your account; the brief does not specify its posting process. Official rules

What documents should I upload?

The supplied information does not list a transcript, recommendation, GPA record, student ID, or other supporting document as required. The form asks for specified student and institution information plus the essay and confirmation of reading the rules and privacy notice. Follow the live official form if its requirements change. Official rules and the application page

How much does it cost to apply?

Nothing. The application is free; no purchase, payment, donation, or business relationship with the sponsor is required or considered. Official rules

What remains unconfirmed

The brief gives no application count, odds, weighted scoring formula, or detailed rubric beyond the named selection considerations. It also does not say whether late entries or alternate recipients are considered, what tax treatment applies, or how an award interacts with other aid. Do not rely on guesses; check the official rules and application page for updates, or use a contact method published there for an individual question.

The brief does not say whether the form provides a receipt or allows edits. Keep a copy of your submission and check the live form. Ask your school how a possible award would affect your student account.

Official sources

Next step
Apply Now