Historical Fellowship

AWARD Fellowship Reviewer Pool 2026: Historical Call and Eligibility Guide

A historical guide to AWARD’s 2026 reviewer-pool call, including its eligibility, workload, honorarium, application form requirements, and closed status.

JJ Ben-Joseph, founder of FindMyMoney.App
Reviewed by JJ Ben-Joseph
Official source: African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD)
📅 Deadline Historical reference
🏛️ Source African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD)

The AWARD reviewer-pool expression of interest for the 2026 cycle is closed. African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) published the call on April 8, 2026, and set April 30, 2026 as the application deadline. The official AWARD page currently documents that completed call; the official source checked for this update does not announce a later reviewer-pool round. This page is therefore a historical reference, not an invitation to apply now. The closed cycle’s real deadline remains in the metadata so the archive record is clear.

This was a recruitment call for experts who could assess applicants to AWARD’s flagship fellowship initiatives. It was not an offer of a fellowship place, a grant, or a standing paid job. The reviewer’s contribution was to help AWARD make informed and fair selection decisions for programs supporting inclusive, gender-responsive, climate-resilient agrifood systems across Africa.

AWARD described the work as a manageable engagement alongside professional responsibilities. Selected reviewers were expected to assess approximately three to five applications, spend an estimated four to six hours during the review period, and attend virtual briefing sessions. The call did not publish a calendar for assignments or guarantee how many assignments an individual reviewer would receive. It did say selected reviewers would receive a modest honorarium, but it did not name an amount, currency, payment schedule, or tax treatment. Any precise compensation figure would be speculation.

At a glance

DetailWhat the 2026 call said
OrganiserAfrican Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD)
OpportunityExpression of interest to join the reviewer pool for AWARD fellowship initiatives
StatusClosed; retained here as a historical reference
DeadlineApril 30, 2026, East Africa Time (GMT+3)
Review assignmentApproximately three to five applications
Estimated timeFour to six hours during the review period, plus virtual briefing sessions
HonorariumA modest honorarium; no amount was published
Main expertise areasAgricultural research and development; agrifood systems; climate resilience; policy and governance; gender in agriculture and development; leadership and capacity strengthening
Application channelAWARD’s online Reviewer Expression of Interest Form; closed for this cycle
Official callAWARD’s call for expression of interest

Purpose of the reviewer pool

AWARD said reviewers would help identify and support high-potential professionals across its flagship programs. The work contributes to selection processes for initiatives concerned with leadership, gender equality, scientific excellence, sustainable development, and climate-responsive agriculture. Reviewers were part of the process that weighs applicants’ experience and proposals against program criteria; joining the pool did not itself make a reviewer a fellow or guarantee future assignments.

The call emphasized the quality and integrity of evaluation. Reviewers would use established criteria and scoring frameworks, provide clear and constructive feedback, and apply standards consistently. They were also expected to keep application materials confidential, disclose actual or potential conflicts of interest before reviewing, and meet agreed timelines. These responsibilities are central to the role: an expert’s subject knowledge is useful only when it is applied impartially and with care for applicants’ private information.

The subject areas listed by AWARD span technical and institutional work. A reviewer might bring experience in agricultural research and development, transformation of agrifood systems, climate change and resilience, agricultural policy and governance, gender in agriculture and development, or leadership development and capacity strengthening. The call invited expertise in one or more of these areas; it did not require every reviewer to cover the full range.

Eligibility in the closed call

AWARD invited qualified professionals with strong expertise and a commitment to inclusive, climate-resilient agrifood systems. Applicants were expected to have a Master’s degree, a PhD, or an equivalent combination of advanced qualifications and relevant professional experience. The call also asked for proven experience in research, policy, academia, gender, or program leadership, together with strong analytical, critical-thinking, and evaluation skills.

Candidates needed to be able to provide balanced, objective, high-quality assessments and have availability to complete reviews within the designated timeframe. Prior service reviewing research proposals, fellowship applications, or grant submissions was described as an additional asset, rather than an absolute requirement. The form asked applicants who had previous reviewer experience to describe it, and included an option for people who had not served as a reviewer before.

English and/or French proficiency was another asset. Review assignments were to be aligned with a reviewer’s language ability. The call did not state a citizenship or residence restriction. The form collected nationality and country of residence as applicant information, but those fields should not be mistaken for an eligibility rule that the public notice did not state.

A good match for the call would therefore have combined relevant subject expertise, sound judgment, availability, and care in handling sensitive application material. The published criteria focused on professional qualifications and review capability. This page does not extend those criteria or promise that a future cycle would use the same requirements.

Workload and compensation

The published estimate was approximately three to five applications and four to six hours across the review period, alongside virtual briefing sessions. That is an estimate for the defined 2026 call. AWARD did not publish the number of days in the review window, the dates assignments would be sent, or a standard number of hours per application. Reviewers would need to follow the timelines communicated for their assignments.

Selected reviewers were to receive a modest honorarium in recognition of their time, expertise, and contribution to AWARD selection processes. The source gave no numeric range or payment terms. Applicants could not calculate expected earnings from the notice, and the opportunity should not be represented as a salaried position or a source of guaranteed income.

What the application involved

The call directed interested experts to submit online through AWARD’s Reviewer Expression of Interest Form. AWARD stated that incomplete submissions or submissions made through another channel would not be considered. The form is linked from the official call page and was associated with the April 30, 2026 deadline. That application route is preserved here for reference only; the closed form does not indicate that late applications or new-cycle submissions are accepted.

The form requested contact and background information, including name, sex, nationality, residence, email, telephone, highest education qualification, degree details, degree status and year obtained, current position, department or unit, institution, years of professional experience, and up to four areas of expertise. It asked which language or languages the applicant could use to review applications and whether they had reviewed fellowship applications, scholarship programs, or research or grant proposals before. Applicants who reported reviewer experience were asked to describe it briefly, with a maximum of 200 words. These field details come from the official form linked by AWARD’s notice; they describe this closed submission route only.

A CV upload was required. The form specified a PDF of three to four pages. Applicants also had to confirm that their information was accurate and complete and consent to its use for reviewer selection. These are the materials and form steps shown for the 2026 call; a future AWARD notice or form may ask for something different.

For a completed cycle, these details are useful to understand the level of preparation involved, but they are not a checklist for applying today. The official call page is the primary record of AWARD’s notice, and any future expression of interest should be submitted only through the channel and by the deadline in a newly published AWARD call.

How review work was expected to be carried out

The public notice describes the standards reviewers were expected to follow, not a detailed scoring rubric. AWARD said it would provide established criteria, evaluation guidelines, and scoring frameworks. A reviewer would evaluate applications against those materials, use a consistent approach, and explain judgments with clear, constructive feedback. Candidates should not assume that personal preferences, familiarity with an institution, or writing polish were substitutes for the published criteria.

Confidentiality and conflict disclosure were explicit responsibilities. Reviewers were expected to protect all application materials and declare actual or potential conflicts before undertaking an assessment. Those safeguards help preserve the credibility of a competitive selection process. The call also stressed agreed timelines, since selection work depends on reviewers completing assignments when requested.

Virtual briefings were part of the expected engagement. The notice does not specify their length, platform, or schedule, so no further commitment should be inferred. Similarly, it does not describe training, certification, or guaranteed repeat work. A reviewer’s participation depended on selection into the pool and the assignments AWARD subsequently made.

Historical status and future calls

The April 30, 2026 deadline has passed. The official AWARD source checked for this update continues to provide the 2026 reviewer-pool notice and its closed application route; no subsequent reviewer-pool call was identified there. The page is marked as historical so it is not presented as an open opportunity. No future deadline is supplied because AWARD has not announced one in the official source checked.

AWARD continues to publish other program and fellowship announcements, but those separate opportunities do not reopen this reviewer expression of interest. Readers interested in serving as reviewers should check AWARD’s official news page for a new reviewer call and use the details in that new announcement. Do not send materials to the old form or assume that eligibility, workload, compensation, or required documents will remain unchanged.

The archived 2026 call is still useful for understanding the kind of professional contribution AWARD sought: subject expertise, careful assessment, objective feedback, confidentiality, conflict disclosure, and dependable follow-through. Its workload estimate and modest honorarium apply to the notice as published; they should not be projected onto a future cycle without confirmation.

Frequently asked questions

Was this an AWARD fellowship?

No. It was an expression of interest to join a reviewer pool for AWARD fellowship initiatives. Reviewers assessed applications; they were not applying for a fellowship award for themselves.

Is the call still open?

No. AWARD’s published deadline was April 30, 2026. This page preserves the closed call as a historical reference.

What was the honorarium?

AWARD said selected reviewers would receive a modest honorarium. The official notice did not state a fixed amount or payment terms.

Was previous reviewer experience mandatory?

AWARD listed prior review of research proposals, fellowship applications, or grant submissions as an additional asset. The form allowed applicants to indicate that they had not served as a reviewer before.

What was required with the application?

The form required personal, education, and professional information, a brief description of previous reviewing where applicable, a CV uploaded as a three-to-four-page PDF, and an accuracy and consent declaration. The form was to be submitted online; incomplete or alternative submissions were not to be considered.

Can the old form be used to apply now?

The form belongs to the closed 2026 call. Its presence here is for historical reference and does not confirm that AWARD is accepting submissions. Wait for a new official reviewer-pool notice before applying.

Official source: Call for Expression of Interest — AWARD. The 2026 form is retained as a historical link: Reviewer Expression of Interest Form.

Next step
Check official source