Collaboration for a Sustainable Future: Pilots and UK Seed Funding
Funding for higher education providers to pilot new institutional collaborations in England or seed cross-UK innovation partnerships.
Collaboration for a Sustainable Future: Pilots and UK Seed Funding
At a glance
| Detail | Published information |
|---|---|
| Funder | Research England and UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) |
| Purpose | Test institutional collaboration models in England or seed cross-UK innovation partnerships |
| Funding tracks | About £4 million for England-only pilots; £15 million for cross-UK seed partnerships; £19 million total |
| Pilot request | £100,000 to £1 million for up to 24 months |
| Cross-UK seed request | £1 million to £5 million for up to 36 months |
| Cost basis | Research England funds 100% of full economic costs |
| Eligible lead | An eligible higher education provider (HEP); conditions differ by track |
| Partnership minimum | At least two HEPs |
| Open and close | Opened 1 October 2026; closes 4 February 2027 at 4:00 p.m. UK time |
| Expected decision | May 2027 |
| Project start | By 1 July 2027 |
| Use of funds by | June 2029 for pilots; June 2030 for cross-UK seed projects |
| Application route | UKRI Funding Service, managed by the chosen institutional project lead and submitted by the lead HEP after institutional checks |
The official opportunity describes a targeted investment in how higher education providers work together. It is intended to help institutions test practical approaches to cost-effectiveness and shared capability, with benefits for identified beneficiaries. It is not presented as a conventional collaborative research grant: collaborative research projects are excluded. Applicants therefore need to make the institutional change or partnership model central, rather than describing a research project and assuming that multiple institutions make it eligible. These details, including the two funding elements and their durations, are set out in the official UKRI opportunity.
What the opportunity funds
There are two separate routes. The England-only pilot element has approximately £4 million available overall. A proposal may request £100,000 to £1 million and run for up to 24 months. The cross-UK innovation partnership seed element has £15 million available overall, with requests of £1 million to £5 million and projects lasting up to 36 months. Together the elements represent £19 million. Those figures describe the published funding envelopes and request ranges; they do not mean every applicant will receive a particular amount.
The call asks institutions to pilot new forms of collaboration. Proposals should explain how partners will test new models for cost-effectiveness and shared capability, who will benefit, and why partners are committed to the plan. They should also demonstrate value for money. In practice, a strong fit is a defined institutional challenge that can be addressed jointly and tested within the selected track’s time and funding limits. The brief does not set out a standard award size within either range, so applicants should develop a request suited to their proposal and confirm any detailed costing rules in the current Funding Service guidance.
Research England funds 100% of full economic costs. This is a cost basis, not a promise that any particular request will be awarded. The opportunity does not promise follow-on funding. Applicants should explain what the funded pilot or seed activity itself will achieve and avoid relying on an unconfirmed later grant to deliver the stated benefits.
Which track fits your collaboration?
Choose the England-only pilot route if the proposed collaboration is an England-based institutional pilot and the lead provider meets the England eligibility condition. Its lower request ceiling and shorter maximum duration frame it for a bounded test: specify what shared approach will be tried, what evidence of feasibility or benefit will be gathered, and how the institutions will assess the model during the award period. These are useful planning choices, not additional published assessment criteria.
Choose the cross-UK seed route if eligible providers in England, Wales, Scotland, or Northern Ireland are building an innovation partnership across the UK. The amount and duration ranges are larger, but the project still needs to be a partnership activity rather than a collaborative research project. Explain the role each provider contributes and why a cross-UK arrangement is needed for the proposed shared capability or institutional model.
The brief does not give a formula for choosing between tracks beyond their geography, funding ranges, and durations. It also does not specify how mixed or evolving partnership structures should be classified. If the project crosses track boundaries or the lead’s status is unclear, check the detailed opportunity terms or ask the institution’s research office to seek clarification through the official UKRI route before preparing a submission.
Who should apply and eligibility
For an England-only pilot, the lead must be an English higher education provider registered with the Office for Students (OfS) in the approved fee-cap category. This is a specific condition: being a university or another higher education organisation alone does not establish that the lead qualifies. Confirm the provider’s registration and fee-cap category with its institutional grants or research office before choosing this route.
For a cross-UK seed application, the lead may be an eligible HEP in England, Wales, Scotland, or Northern Ireland. The brief does not list all provider-level eligibility rules for each nation, so a provider should verify that it meets the applicable definition in the call guidance. At least two HEPs must be involved in either track. The application must be led by an eligible HEP; a non-HEP organisation cannot lead under the stated conditions.
The call excludes collaborative research projects. A project may involve knowledge, expertise, or innovation, but the proposed funded work must fit the call’s institutional collaboration purpose. Make the partnership arrangement and the model being tested explicit. If the core activity is a joint research study, do not assume it becomes eligible because it supports institutional cooperation; verify the call’s definition before committing partners to an application.
The supplied information does not clarify whether non-HEP organisations may participate as additional partners, what forms of institutional approval are needed, or whether there are other detailed exclusions. Treat these points as unresolved and check the current opportunity guidance and Funding Service questions before finalising the partnership.
How to Apply
Applications are made through the UKRI Funding Service. The chosen institutional project lead manages the application, while the lead higher education provider submits it after completing institutional checks. This means the project lead should coordinate partner input and the lead institution’s internal process rather than leaving submission arrangements until the deadline week.
A practical sequence is:
- Confirm the track and lead. Check the lead provider’s eligibility, the project’s geography, and the minimum of two HEPs. For an England-only pilot, confirm the OfS approved fee-cap condition. For a cross-UK seed proposal, confirm provider eligibility in the relevant nation.
- Agree the institutional proposition. Partners should define the shared capability or collaboration model they intend to test, the problem it addresses, and the beneficiaries. Make clear how the work is distinct from a collaborative research project.
- Build the case together. The proposal should explain the approach to testing cost-effectiveness and shared capability, partner commitment, beneficiaries, and value for money. Align the scale and duration of the work with the chosen track’s published limits.
- Coordinate institutional checks. The lead provider submits the application after its checks. Ask the institution which internal review steps and lead times apply; the call brief does not prescribe a universal internal timetable or list required documents.
- Complete and submit in the Funding Service. The institutional project lead manages the application, and the eligible lead HEP makes the submission. Allow time for partners and institutional approvers to review the final content before the published close.
The brief does not enumerate mandatory attachments, form questions, letters, or detailed cost headings. Do not infer that a particular document is required from common practice in other funding calls. Use the live UKRI Funding Service application and the linked opportunity guidance to establish the exact fields and requirements for this round. Likewise, confirm any institution-specific approvals directly with the lead HEP.
Timeline and deadlines
The opportunity opened on 1 October 2026. The submission deadline is 4 February 2027 at 4:00 p.m. UK time. The deadline is a precise time, not simply the end of that date. The expected funding decision is in May 2027, and projects must start by 1 July 2027.
The funds must be used by different dates according to track: by June 2029 for England-only pilots and by June 2030 for cross-UK seed projects. These end points should shape the proposed schedule from the outset. A project needs enough time after the required start to undertake the planned collaboration and reach its stated outputs within its own maximum duration and spending deadline.
The brief does not provide an exact May decision date, award start date for each project, or further milestones between decision and start. It also does not say whether extensions or changes to the spending deadline are possible. Applicants should plan against the confirmed dates and verify any later timetable or flexibility in the award terms rather than treating an expected decision month as a guaranteed notification day.
Preparing a clear, credible proposal
Published requirements and proposal expectations: the project must involve at least two HEPs and be led by an eligible HEP. It must fit one of the two tracks, respect that track’s request range and duration, and not be a collaborative research project. The proposal should explain its test of new models for cost-effectiveness and shared capability, identify beneficiaries, show partner commitment, and demonstrate value for money.
Optional preparation advice: before drafting, write a short shared description of the institutional problem and the change partners will test. Then map each partner’s contribution to a part of the plan. This helps distinguish a genuine joint operating model from a list of institutions attached to an activity that could be carried out by one provider. Decide how partners will judge whether the test worked, using measures appropriate to the stated benefits; the brief does not prescribe specific indicators.
Build a delivery plan backwards from the start and funds-use deadlines. Check that the proposal’s duration is within 24 months for a pilot or 36 months for a cross-UK seed project, and that all funded activity can be completed within the applicable June deadline. Match the request to the described work and explain the value expected from shared capability. Although the fund covers 100% of full economic costs, value for money remains part of the proposal expectation; full cost coverage should not be treated as a reason to omit a clear explanation of costs and benefits.
Finally, ask each partner and the lead provider to check the same version of the proposal. Confirm the lead’s eligibility, partner identities and roles, amount, duration, start plan, and submission arrangements. These checks are sensible preparation, not a published list of mandatory documents. The exact application questions and any required supporting material must be confirmed in the Funding Service.
Common mistakes to avoid
A frequent fit problem would be presenting collaborative research as the main funded activity. The call explicitly excludes collaborative research projects, so make the institutional collaboration model and its test the substance of the proposal. Another risk is treating the two tracks as interchangeable: their eligibility geography, funding ranges, durations, and end dates differ.
Do not assume that a named institution automatically meets the lead criteria. For England-only pilots, check the OfS approved fee-cap category. For cross-UK applications, verify that the lead is an eligible provider in its nation. Check that at least two HEPs are involved and that an eligible HEP leads the submission.
Avoid relying on an assumed standard award, a guaranteed follow-on award, or an unconfirmed extension. No standard individual award is specified within the published ranges, and no follow-on funding is promised. Shape the proposal around the amount requested and the work that can be completed within the stated period. Finally, distinguish the UKRI submission deadline from the lead institution’s internal deadline: institutional checks are required, but their timing is not specified in the call brief, so obtain it from the lead provider early.
Frequently asked questions
How much can one project request?
An England-only pilot may request £100,000 to £1 million; a cross-UK seed partnership may request £1 million to £5 million. These are ranges, not guaranteed awards or fixed allocations. The brief does not specify a standard individual award within either range.
Can a project include only one higher education provider?
No. The stated minimum is two HEPs. The application must also be led by an eligible HEP.
Can the proposal fund joint academic research?
Collaborative research projects are excluded. Applicants should confirm how the call applies to a borderline activity through the detailed UKRI guidance before applying.
Is this an England-only opportunity?
Only the pilot track is England-only. Cross-UK seed proposals may be led by eligible HEPs in England, Wales, Scotland, or Northern Ireland.
Does 100% of full economic costs mean the full request will be paid?
It describes the cost basis Research England funds. It does not establish an award decision or an individual award amount.
Is more funding available after the project?
No follow-on funding is promised in the supplied information. Proposals should stand on the deliverables and benefits achievable within this opportunity.
What documents must I upload?
The brief does not specify required attachments. Check the current opportunity page and the application in the UKRI Funding Service for the fields and materials required for this call, and check internal approval requirements with the lead provider.
Official source and points to verify
Read the official UKRI opportunity page for the current rules and application route. Confirm the lead provider’s eligibility, exact Funding Service questions, detailed cost and partner rules, institutional approval timetable, and any required supporting materials before submission.
The supplied brief does not establish a standard award amount for an individual project, a complete list of eligible provider types or attachments, an exact May decision date, acceptance odds, or an extension policy. It also makes no commitment to follow-on funding. These points should remain open until confirmed by the official opportunity guidance or the lead institution; they should not be filled with assumptions.