FP Launchpad Post-Baccalaureate Fellowship, Cohort 2
A full-time, two-year research fellowship at IIT Madras for programmers interested in systems and functional programming research, primarily using OCaml and OxCaml. Fellows contribute to open-source systems and work toward research publications.
FP Launchpad Post-Baccalaureate Fellowship, Cohort 2
FP Launchpad is recruiting eight fellows for a full-time, two-year research fellowship at IIT Madras, starting in Summer 2027. The program is intended for programmers who want to work on systems and functional programming research, primarily with OCaml and OxCaml. Fellows contribute to open-source systems and work toward research publications. Applications are open through December 10, 2026, according to the program announcement. Official announcement
At a glance
| Item | Published details |
|---|---|
| Program | FP Launchpad Post-Baccalaureate Fellowship, Cohort 2 |
| Host | Centre for Functional Systems Research and Education at IIT Madras |
| Places | Eight fellows |
| Duration and format | Full-time, two years, on campus at IIT Madras |
| Expected start | Summer 2027 |
| Research focus | Systems and functional programming, primarily OCaml and OxCaml |
| Stipend | Up to ₹1,00,000 per month, depending on qualifications and experience under IITM IC&SR norms |
| Conference support | Approved conference registration, travel, and accommodation may be covered under IITM norms for accepted papers or talks |
| Application deadline | December 10, 2026 |
| Application route | Online application linked from the official announcement |
| Application content stated | Motivation, technical background, programming experience, and a code sample written from scratch |
| Current status in announcement | Open |
The stipend is described as “up to” the stated amount, not as a guaranteed uniform payment. Conference support also has conditions: the paper or talk must be accepted at an approved conference, and coverage remains subject to IITM norms. Applicants should not treat these benefits as a promise that every fellow receives the maximum stipend or that every conference expense is automatically reimbursed. (Source: FP Launchpad announcement.)
What the fellowship offers
The central benefit is two years of full-time research experience within IIT Madras’s Centre for Functional Systems Research and Education. Fellows contribute to open-source systems and work toward research publications. For someone considering a research career, this creates a setting in which implementation work and research outcomes are linked: writing and improving software is part of the work, while communicating results through publications is also an intended direction. The announcement does not promise that each fellow will publish a paper; it says fellows work toward research publications.
The monthly stipend can be as high as ₹1,00,000. The actual amount depends on qualifications and experience and is governed by IITM IC&SR norms. The announcement does not provide a stipend scale or explain how a particular applicant’s amount would be determined. If the amount is important to a decision, ask the program what range or calculation applies to the applicant’s circumstances rather than budgeting on the maximum figure.
There may also be conference support when a fellow’s paper or talk is accepted at an approved conference. Registration, travel, and accommodation may be covered subject to IITM norms. This is conditional funding connected to an approved conference presentation, not a general travel allowance. The announcement does not spell out approval procedures, covered limits, or whether expenses must be paid up front, so those details should be confirmed before making financial plans.
Who should apply and what experience is expected
The intended applicant is a programmer interested in research at the intersection of systems and functional programming. The principal languages named are OCaml and OxCaml. Strong C or C++ skills are expected. The announcement also asks applicants to show work beyond coursework: examples include open-source contributions, personal projects, research prototypes, or a difficult bug they investigated and resolved. These examples indicate the kind of evidence that can help demonstrate independent technical work; they are not stated as a checklist of mandatory project types.
Prior experience in OCaml, Haskell, or Rust is helpful, but it is not required. That distinction matters for applicants who are interested in the field but have not yet used OCaml. The published expectations do not make prior functional-language experience a gate. They do, however, emphasize the ability to explain code the applicant wrote and the decisions behind it. An applicant who can clearly describe design tradeoffs, debugging, and what they learned from a project may be better prepared to demonstrate the requested understanding than someone who lists tools without explaining their work.
The announcement does not identify a required degree, graduation date, age range, citizenship condition, or minimum years of experience. “Post-Baccalaureate” appears in the fellowship name, but the supplied announcement facts do not establish a formal degree rule. Do not infer one from the title. If you need to know whether your education, current enrollment, location, or work status qualifies, verify directly through the application materials or an official program contact linked from the announcement.
How to Apply
Use the online application linked from the official Cohort 2 announcement. Submit it by December 10, 2026. The announcement says applicants should describe their motivation, technical background, and programming experience, and provide a code sample written from scratch. It does not specify a file format, code language, sample length, or whether additional materials such as a résumé or academic records are required. Follow the current form’s instructions for those details rather than guessing.
In the written responses, connect your interest in systems and functional programming research to concrete experience. Explain what you built or investigated, what decisions you made, what tradeoffs you considered, and what the result taught you. This is preparation advice, not a prescribed essay format: the published facts call for motivation, technical background, and programming experience but do not provide prompts or length limits.
The announcement warns that applications relying primarily on AI-generated responses or code will be rejected. Treat that as an explicit selection rule. Write your own responses and submit code you understand and can explain. Do not use generated text or code as a substitute for your own account of your work. The announcement does not define a permitted-use policy for every possible editing aid; if you are uncertain about a specific tool or assistance, ask the program rather than assuming.
Timeline and deadline
No interview dates, review milestones, decision date, offer-response deadline, or exact first day are stated in the brief. Applicants should not plan around an assumed notification schedule. Submit well before December 10 if possible, retain a copy of what the form confirms, and use the official program channel to ask about review timing or start-date details if those affect your plans. The announcement does not define a particular time zone or hour for the deadline, so check the live application form for its closing behavior and submit early enough to avoid a last-minute issue.
Preparation advice and common mistakes
The following suggestions are optional ways to prepare; they are not additional published requirements. First, inventory your strongest evidence of work beyond coursework. This might be a repository contribution, a personal tool, a prototype, or a debugging account. For each example, note what problem you tackled, what part you personally implemented, the constraints you faced, and how you checked whether the solution worked. A concise, accurate explanation is more useful than a list of technologies you cannot discuss.
Third, connect your experience to the fellowship’s stated focus. If you have used OCaml, OxCaml, Haskell, or Rust, explain what you did with it. If you have not, the announcement says those languages are not required; you can instead make your systems and programming background clear, including the expected strong C/C++ skills. Avoid claiming that a language is a prerequisite when the announcement explicitly makes prior experience in the named languages optional.
Common avoidable problems include assuming the stipend will be the maximum, treating conference funding as unconditional, submitting coursework alone as evidence of independent work, or leaving unclear which code you authored. Another risk is inferring unstated eligibility rules from the fellowship’s name. Check the actual form for required fields and materials, and seek official clarification for degree status, relocation, or other details not addressed in the announcement.
Frequently asked questions
Is prior OCaml experience required?
No. The announcement says prior OCaml, Haskell, or Rust experience is a plus rather than a requirement. The focus is primarily OCaml and OxCaml, and strong C/C++ skills are expected. Applicants should still be prepared to discuss programming work and their decisions. (Source: official announcement.)
What is the monthly stipend?
The stated amount is up to ₹1,00,000 per month, with the actual amount based on qualifications and experience under IITM IC&SR norms. No detailed scale is given in the supplied facts, so ask the program about the amount relevant to your case.
Does the fellowship pay for conference travel?
Registration, travel, and accommodation may be covered for accepted papers or talks at approved conferences, subject to IITM norms. The announcement does not state the approval process or expense limits.
Is a bachelor’s degree mandatory?
The supplied announcement facts do not state a degree requirement or age limit. The program name alone does not confirm a formal eligibility rule. Check the application form or seek clarification from the program using an official channel linked from the announcement.
What should the code sample contain?
The published instruction is to provide a code sample written from scratch. The supplied facts do not say which language, size, or format to use. Consult the live form for specifications and ask the program if the instruction remains unclear. Be ready to explain the code and your decisions.
Are housing or relocation covered?
The announcement facts do not separately confirm housing, relocation, healthcare, or other expenses. Ask the program what support, if any, is available and what costs a fellow should plan to cover.
When does the fellowship begin?
The cohort is scheduled to start in Summer 2027. The announcement does not provide an exact start date. The application deadline is December 10, 2026.
How many fellows will be selected?
The announcement says FP Launchpad seeks eight fellows. It does not give acceptance odds or describe a fixed selection quota beyond that stated cohort size.
Official source and verification
Several practical details remain unconfirmed in the supplied announcement: a degree or age rule, the exact stipend determination, relocation and housing support, healthcare and other expenses, detailed conference reimbursement procedures, application file formats, and selection or notification dates. Applicants whose decision depends on any of these should verify them with the program through an official channel connected to the announcement or application. This keeps planning grounded in confirmed terms while leaving room to obtain answers specific to an applicant’s situation.