Open Research and Impact Fellowship With Backfill Funding

NIHR ARC East of England Research and Impact Fellowship Programme 2027

A fellowship for East of England health, care, and voluntary-sector workers to lead small-scale research or evidence-implementation projects with training and supervision.

JJ Ben-Joseph, founder of FindMyMoney.App
Reviewed by JJ Ben-Joseph
Official source: NIHR Applied Research Collaboration East of England
💰 Funding Backfill funding for one day per week for one year, up to £12,500
📅 Deadline Dec 9, 2026
📍 Location East of England, United Kingdom
🏛️ Source NIHR Applied Research Collaboration East of England

NIHR ARC East of England Research and Impact Fellowship Programme 2027

At a glance

DetailInformation
ProgrammeNIHR ARC East of England Research and Impact Fellowship Programme 2027
Who it is forPeople working in health, care, or voluntary-sector organisations in the East of England
Fellowship routesResearch Fellowship, or Impact Fellowship
Protected timeOne day per week for one year
FundingBackfill funding up to £12,500
Closing date12:00 on 9 December 2026; the announcement does not specify a timezone
AssessmentWritten application only; there is no interview stage
PhD restrictionApplicants must not hold a PhD or be enrolled in a PhD programme
Official information and applicationNIHR ARC East of England announcement

The 2027 programme is for local health, care, and voluntary-sector workers who want protected time and support to carry out a modest applied research, evaluation, or evidence-implementation project. The award is not described as a general training bursary: the funded day is intended to support a project as well as teaching and action-learning sets. The programme announcement is the authority for the details summarized here; check it and the linked application for any updates before submitting.

What the fellowship offers

The ARC provides backfill funding for one day each week over one year, up to £12,500. The protected time is for project work, teaching, and action-learning sets. The announcement does not explain how employers administer backfill, so clarify local arrangements before relying on a particular payment process. (Source: programme announcement.)

Expert-led teaching covers project skills, including statistics and involving patients and the public in health and social-care research. A specialist supervisor supports project development and delivery. Action-learning sets support peer learning, with midpoint and endpoint check-ins to identify barriers and learning. (Source: programme announcement.)

Exact start and end dates are not stated. The brief also does not explain payment administration or what happens if employment changes. Verify those practical details through the current official materials or programme before making plans.

Choose the route that matches your project

The Research Fellowship supports local applied research and evaluation, including audits. The Impact Fellowship supports implementing and spreading evidence-based improvements. Choose according to the work you propose, rather than your job title or general interest in research. (Source: programme announcement.)

A focused question about local practice, a service evaluation, or an audit may fit the Research route. Putting existing evidence into practice or spreading an improvement may fit the Impact route. These are examples to clarify the routes, not additional eligibility or selection rules.

Before deciding, describe the local problem, your proposed work, and how it could fit the route definitions. If your idea includes both evaluation and implementation, discuss its fit with a potential academic supervisor or impact advisor. The programme encourages this early discussion, but does not state that a meeting is required.

Who should apply and eligibility

Applicants must work in a health, care, or voluntary-sector organisation and be based in the East of England. People who hold a PhD or are enrolled in a PhD programme are not eligible. The brief does not define the region in more detail or specify eligible job titles. If your work base or organisation makes your eligibility uncertain, check the live application guidance or ask the programme. (Source: programme announcement.)

The fellowship may suit workers who can identify a local health or care challenge and shape a project around it. No seniority level, minimum years of experience, or approved profession list is supplied. Do not infer inclusion or exclusion from a job title; verify borderline cases against the stated organisation and location criteria.

The PhD restriction includes people currently enrolled. The brief does not clarify paused enrolment or other doctoral qualifications. If your circumstances do not clearly match the published wording, obtain an answer from the programme before applying rather than assuming an exception. Before drafting, you can make a simple eligibility check for yourself: note your organisation and work base, then consider whether you hold or are enrolled in a PhD. This does not replace the programme’s decision on eligibility, especially where the region or study-status wording is unclear. Ask about any borderline point early enough to act on the answer.

How to Apply

Apply through the programme’s written application. Assessment is based solely on that application, with no interview stage. The announcement links to the form but does not specify its questions, attachments, word limits, or submission mechanism. Follow the live form rather than assuming requirements from another fellowship. (Source: programme announcement.)

Because the written application is the sole assessment described, use its questions to make the project understandable on the page. The brief does not publish a scoring rubric, so do not try to reverse-engineer one. Read the form first, note its actual questions and limits, then draft against those instructions.

A practical sequence is:

  1. Check the live announcement and form. Confirm the current eligibility wording, deadline, and application instructions.
  2. Choose a route. Match the project to the Research or Impact Fellowship. If uncertain, discuss the idea with a potential academic supervisor or impact advisor; early discussion is encouraged.
  3. Shape the project explanation. Be ready to describe the local issue and the research, evaluation, implementation, or spread of evidence you propose. Use the fields and limits in the form.
  4. Consider protected time. Think through how you could use one day a week for project work, teaching, and action-learning sets, and whether your organisation can support it. This is preparation advice, not a separate document requirement.
  5. Complete and submit the written application. Answer the actual questions, follow upload instructions, and submit before the deadline. The announcement specifies no interview.
  6. Keep a copy and submission confirmation. This is optional record-keeping advice.

As a final quality check, compare the completed form with the live instructions: check that each required field is answered, the project route is consistent throughout, and any uploaded file follows the stated format. These are practical checks against the form, not separately published assessment criteria. Keep the submitted version and confirmation for your records.

The announcement does not list required attachments. It would be inaccurate to describe a CV, reference, employer letter, budget, or supervisor endorsement as mandatory from the supplied information. If the live form requests supporting material, follow its instructions; if unclear, verify with the programme.

Timeline and deadline

Applications are open and close at 12:00 on 9 December 2026. No timezone is given, so do not convert the deadline by assumption. Check the current application page and submit early. The supplied brief does not state an extension. (Source: programme announcement.)

No decision date, notification schedule, or exact fellowship start and end dates are published in the brief. Since assessment is based only on the written application, explain the project and route fit clearly in the form rather than relying on a later interview to fill gaps. This is preparation advice, not a published scoring rubric.

Preparation and common mistakes

Preparation advice, not additional requirements: Before opening the form, note the local need, the project’s purpose, the route that seems to fit, and how you might use one protected day each week. This can help keep your answers consistent. The announcement does not require a separate project plan or proposal attachment.

For a research or evaluation idea, prepare to explain what you want to understand or assess. For an implementation idea, be ready to identify the evidence-based improvement you hope to put into practice or spread. Consider who in your setting would be involved. These prompts help clarify your proposal; they are not extra selection criteria.

Talk with your organisation about protected time and how backfill would be handled locally. The award is up to £12,500 for one day a week over one year, but employer processes are not described. Early discussion may reveal practical issues; no approval letter is listed as a requirement.

Avoid overlooking the PhD restriction, assuming any UK location qualifies, or choosing a route without explaining its fit. Do not leave submission until the deadline: the live form may have instructions not covered in the announcement. Check uncertain eligibility directly and submit ahead of the stated closing time.

Frequently asked questions

Is this funding paid directly to the fellow?

The award is described as backfill funding for one day per week for one year, up to £12,500. Payment arrangements are not stated. Ask the programme and your employer how funding is administered before treating it as personal income. (Source: programme announcement.)

Can I apply with a PhD?

No. Applicants with a PhD or enrolled in a PhD programme are ineligible. Check with the programme if your qualification or enrolment situation is not clearly covered.

Is there an interview?

No. Assessment is solely on the written application, according to the announcement. Make your case clear within the form’s instructions.

What attachments do I need?

The brief lists none and does not specify the form fields. Check the linked application for current instructions; do not assume a CV, reference, or employer letter is needed unless the form says so.

When does the fellowship start?

The exact dates are not stated. The confirmed duration is one year. Check the current application or ask the programme for the schedule.

Is noon local time?

The announcement gives 12:00 on 9 December 2026 but no timezone. Verify the current form and submit early.

Official source

Read the NIHR ARC East of England announcement and linked application for the latest programme wording and application instructions. The facts above reflect the supplied programme brief. The form’s detailed questions and attachments, precise start and end dates, deadline timezone, and funding administration remain unconfirmed in that brief; verify these points through the official programme materials before relying on them.

Next step
Apply Now