Historical Fellowship

Office of the High Representative Fellowship Program 2026: Historical Reference for the Closed Cycle

Historical reference for the closed 2026 Office of the High Representative fellowship cycle in Bosnia and Herzegovina. The deadline was 17 September 2026; OHR has not announced a later cycle.

JJ Ben-Joseph, founder of FindMyMoney.App
Reviewed by JJ Ben-Joseph
Official source: Office of the High Representative
💰 Funding Stipend; amount not published
📅 Deadline Historical reference
📍 Location Bosnia and Herzegovina, Sarajevo and Banja Luka
🏛️ Source Office of the High Representative

Office of the High Representative Fellowship Program 2026: Historical Reference for the Closed Cycle

The 2026 application cycle is closed. The Office of the High Representative (OHR) set 17 September 2026 as the closing date for its 2026 fellowship. That date has passed. OHR still displays the 2026 call in its fellowship and vacancies listings as “applications open,” but the call itself gives a closing date of 17 September 2026. That deadline has passed, and no later fellowship cycle is announced on those official pages. This page preserves the terms of the closed call for reference; it is not an invitation to apply now. No future deadline is known, so none is guessed here.

The official call described one 12-month placement, expected to begin in October 2026, in Sarajevo or Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina. It offered a stipend, but the public notice did not state a cash amount. The announcement also listed health insurance and leave entitlement, social contributions for citizens of Bosnia and Herzegovina, and arrangements for residency and work permits for international fellows. It did not state a housing benefit, relocation allowance, or travel budget. These details below describe what OHR published for that specific cycle and should not be treated as current terms for any future opportunity.

At a glance: the closed 2026 call

DetailPublished terms for the 2026 cycle
ProgrammeOHR Fellowship Program, 2026 year
Cycle statusClosed; closing date was 17 September 2026
PositionsOne
LocationSarajevo or Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Expected startOctober 2026
Duration12 months, with a possible extension up to a maximum of 24 months
Financial supportStipend; amount not published
Other stated conditionsHealth insurance and leave entitlement; social contributions for BiH nationals; residency and work-permit arrangements for international fellows
Eligible nationalitiesAll nationalities
Application method in that callEmail or post to OHR Human Resources Section
Current availabilityThe 2026 call remains listed, but its closing date has passed; no later cycle is announced

The detailed source is OHR’s official 2026 fellowship announcement. The OHR vacancies page is the place to check for active recruitment. Its listing still includes the 2026 call, so use the deadline in the call itself to understand that this round has closed; check the official listings for a later announcement before relying on this archive for a future round. A repeated or updated web page for the closed cycle would not by itself mean applications have reopened.

What the fellowship offered

OHR presented the fellowship as professional development for young professionals and recent graduates. The model combined intensive training with on-the-job experience. Fellows were to work under the mentorship of senior staff, primarily legal and political experts, and participate in developing and executing programmes connected to OHR’s mandate. The announcement named the rule of law, anti-corruption, electoral integrity, and institutional resilience as focus areas.

The placement was intended to give the selected fellow experience inside an international institution working on the civilian implementation of the peace agreement in Bosnia and Herzegovina. OHR described learning about the country’s current socio-political and legal system as part of the programme. It framed the experience as relevant to a continuing public-policy career, particularly policy work in a post-conflict context. The announcement did not publish a daily schedule, a full position description, or a guaranteed departmental assignment beyond asking applicants to name a department of interest in their statement.

Only one position was advertised for this cycle, located in Sarajevo or Banja Luka. The notice said the fellowship would last 12 months, with a possible extension up to 24 months maximum. It did not promise an extension or set out how one would be decided. A prospective applicant should therefore have assessed the original 12-month placement on its own terms rather than relying on a possible additional year.

The stipend was confirmed, but there was no published amount. A reader cannot calculate a monthly budget from the announcement alone. Health insurance and leave entitlement were also listed. For BiH nationals, OHR listed social contributions; for international fellows, it said it would arrange residency and work permits. The notice did not promise accommodation, relocation assistance, a separate travel allowance, or a particular stipend level. Such details would have required confirmation directly from OHR during recruitment.

Eligibility published for this cycle

The call was open to applicants of all nationalities. It required a law degree or an advanced degree in Political Science, International Relations, Government, or a related field. The degree had to have been awarded in September 2024 or later, or be expected before the fellowship began. OHR also required excellent academic achievement. The call did not give a numerical grade threshold or specify that applicants needed a particular number of years of employment experience.

The general requirements extended beyond formal education. Candidates needed an excellent oral and written command of English, computer literacy, and excellent drafting and research skills. OHR also asked for knowledge of the socio-political environment in the Western Balkans or Bosnia and Herzegovina in particular, willingness to travel within Bosnia and Herzegovina, and readiness to work with people from various cultural backgrounds.

The exclusion concerning prior OHR experience was specific: a candidate could not have previous experience with OHR as a national contractor, consultant, or Junior Professional/Fellow. Anyone reviewing the archived criteria should read that restriction in the context of the stated 2026 call rather than infer additional exclusions. The public notice did not state an age cap, nationality restriction, minimum work history, or a requirement for a particular additional language.

Application materials and process described in the notice

The application window has closed, and the steps here are retained as a record of what applicants were asked to provide. OHR required an application in English containing four items:

  1. A one-page Statement of Interest specifying the department of interest.
  2. A Curriculum Vitae.
  3. A writing sample of no more than two pages.
  4. Two Letters of Recommendation.

Incomplete applications were not to be considered. The notice directed applicants to submit by email to [email protected] or by post to the Office of the High Representative, Human Resources Section, Fellowship Program, Emerika Bluma 1, 71 000 Sarajevo. It asked applicants not to make telephone inquiries and said only shortlisted candidates would be contacted. It did not publish an application form, a required file-naming scheme, a time of day for the deadline, or a detailed procedure for recommendations. The archive should not be used to assume any of those instructions for a later call.

For applicants who prepared materials at the time, the strongest way to use the one-page statement would have been to make the department preference concrete and connect it to relevant evidence: a research assignment, legal analysis, policy work, internship, clinic, or comparable responsibility. A concise explanation of why that department and what the candidate could contribute would have answered the prompt more directly than a general statement of interest in international affairs. This is practical interpretation of the published requirement, not an additional OHR rule.

The CV needed to make the degree requirement easy to assess. Listing the field, institution, and award date or expected completion date clearly would have helped reviewers compare the record to the stated eligibility window. Research, drafting, governance, legal, policy, regional, and cross-cultural experience could support the other stated requirements where it was genuinely relevant. The announcement did not prescribe a CV length or format.

The two-page writing sample was an opportunity to show clear, careful analysis. A short policy memo, legal analysis, research brief, or excerpt could demonstrate the ability to frame a question, use evidence, and explain a conclusion. The call only specified the length; it did not require a particular genre. A sample should represent the applicant’s own work, with confidential information removed where necessary and any collaborative contribution accurately described.

Two recommendation letters were required, but OHR’s public announcement did not set out their format or whether recommenders should send them separately. During the call, applicants would have needed to ensure both letters were included as OHR required and clarify any delivery issue through an appropriate channel. Because incomplete applications were excluded, leaving one letter to follow later would have been a material risk.

What applicants should take from the archived requirements

The criteria indicate the kind of profile OHR sought for this particular fellowship: recent or soon-to-graduate advanced study in a relevant discipline, strong academic performance, confident English drafting, research ability, regional awareness, and the ability to work constructively across backgrounds. A degree title alone would not have demonstrated the communication and research requirements. Examples in the statement, CV, and writing sample could have made those abilities visible.

Regional knowledge did not require a claim of expertise. An applicant could have explained a course, research project, language study, professional assignment, or other experience that informed their understanding of Bosnia and Herzegovina or the Western Balkans. The useful standard is specificity: say what was studied or done and what was learned, without making broad claims unsupported by experience.

The department preference also mattered because the single advertised position could be placed in either of two cities and the application explicitly requested a department of interest. The official notice did not guarantee that an applicant would be assigned to a preferred department or city. A reasoned preference would have helped show fit while leaving the final placement decision to OHR.

The stated subject areas were broad enough to attract applicants from law, political science, international relations, government, and related disciplines, but they were not interchangeable. A strong application would have linked its own evidence to one or two relevant areas rather than repeating every programme theme. The fellowship was described as practical work with training and mentorship, not solely as a scholarship, classroom course, or observational visit.

Questions about the closed cycle

Can I still apply using the listed email address?

This page records a call whose closing date was 17 September 2026. It is past. Although OHR’s listings still display the 2026 item as “applications open,” the call’s own stated closing date has passed. Do not treat the email address or postal address in the old notice as evidence that OHR is accepting late applications. Look for a new, official call before preparing or sending an application.

Has OHR announced another cycle?

The latest fellowship call shown on OHR’s fellowship and vacancies pages is still the 2026 call. It gives a closing date of 17 September 2026, which has passed, and the pages do not announce a later cycle. That means a future deadline cannot be stated here. It does not establish that OHR has permanently discontinued the fellowship; the status may change if OHR publishes a new announcement.

What was the stipend amount?

OHR confirmed that the position included a stipend but did not publish the amount in the 2026 announcement. No cash figure should be inferred from this archive. The notice also did not quantify the value of insurance or leave.

Who could apply to the 2026 round?

All nationalities could apply, subject to the degree timing, academic achievement, skills, regional knowledge, travel, and prior-OHR-experience conditions listed above. These are historical eligibility criteria for the 2026 call. A future notice could alter them.

Where was the position based and how long would it last?

The 2026 announcement listed Sarajevo or Banja Luka and one position. It expected commencement in October 2026 and described a 12-month fellowship with a possible extension, up to a maximum of 24 months. Those details do not establish the location or duration of any future cycle.

Which documents were required?

The closed call requested the one-page Statement of Interest naming a department, CV, two-page writing sample, and two recommendation letters, all in English. Applicants would have submitted by email or post as the announcement described. Those instructions are retained for historical context only.

Official source and archive note

Read the official 2026 OHR announcement for the original programme and eligibility wording. Check the OHR vacancies page for current availability. As of this page’s update, the 2026 deadline had passed. OHR’s listings still displayed the 2026 call as “applications open,” but did not announce a later cycle. The 2026 cycle’s deadline remains recorded above as 17 September 2026 so the page accurately documents the historical call; no future date is implied.

Next step
Check official source